top of page

Region M aims to reduce solid waste in landfills through source reduction, recycling and programs designed to educate the public about the importance thereof.

In 1990, to facilitate regional planning for solid waste management, the Missouri General Assembly passed SB530.  This law provided guidelines for the formation & operation of 20 solid waste management districts within the state.  The REGION M-SWMD was formed pursuant to RSMo., Section 260.305, and is officially recognized by the Missouri Department of Natural Resources (MDNR).


The  REGION M Waste Management District includes the counties of Barton, Jasper, Newton, McDonald, Vernon, and their participating cities.  Participation is voluntary and is formally established through a resolution of adoption filed with the district office by the member governments.

Executive Board

Jamey Cope, Chairperson - McDonald County Eastern Commissioner, representing McDonald County

Alan Cook, Vice Chairperson - Newton County District 1 Commissioner, representing Newton County

John Bartosh, Treasurer - Jasper County Presiding Commissioner, representing Jasper County

Rauni Brown - Bronaugh City Clerk, representing cities of Vernon County

Keenan Cortez - City of Joplin Mayor Pro-Tem, representing city of Joplin

Greg Dagnan - City of Carthage Administrator, representing the cities of Jasper County

Vacant - Barton County Presiding Commissioner, representing Barton County

Everett Wolfe - Vernon County Commissioner, representing Vernon County

Ira Hawkins - City of Granby Mayor, representing cities of Newton County

Terry Lance - City of Noel Mayor, representing cities of McDonald County

Russ Worsley - City of Lamar Administrator, representing cities of Barton County

Advisory Committee

Rauni Brown - Region M Executive Board, City of Bronaugh

Kirra Antrobus - Citizen At Large

Jennifer Fagan - Republic Services

Jeff Jones - Joplin Workshops, Inc.

Jennifer Shotwell - Area Agency on Aging, Region X

Luke Westerman - Computer Recycling Center


Patty Overman - Region M District Planner

bottom of page